myjourney2healthy











{November 2, 2012}   Sandy’s Wrath

I grew up with grey skies and many rainy days, people complained. The nerve. How I appreciate the calmness of London now. While I love living in New York, I have lived through Irene and now Sandy as well as a Tornado which ripped through my neighborhood, when I was pregnant with my little princess.

Honestly, nothing has been quiet like Sandy. While I am in the middle of the 5 Boroughs of NY, I was prepared to lose power, I stocked up on water, canned goods, flash lights, candles, you name it.

My power never went, yet all my friends lost their power, their houses flooded and the damage done was disastrous. I felt so useless, I was glued to the Television watching as the storm progressed, I looked outside, keeping away from the windows, but how could I not look outside?The trees swaying like a monster was shaking it like a toy! I thought it was a matter of time before the tree directly outside my flat fell. How it did not is beyond me!?

The noise of the gusts of wind was like a soundtrack of a movie, it just was not real. I still feel like someone was going to wake me from a nightmare.

However, Sandy’s wrath was very real and hit very hard, people lost their loved ones, and their homes and much more. On a more positive note –  People have also come together, they have given donations, they have offered assistance in their own way, whether it is giving out food or water, please do what you can!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
