myjourney2healthy











{April 18, 2012}   The Story About Lemons

Good morning all!

I definitely try to change my diet and life up in some way so that it does not get boring each week. This week I did a little research and added something so simple to my current habits and those are lemons, or lemon water!

I have always liked a little lemon with water occasionally and been served it when I go to a restaurant but I would never buy them in bulk (other then for cooking purposes). So I thought it would be a great ‘add in’ with all this water I have been ‘downing’ since I started my journey. Then I figured if I am going to do this, I might as well do this correctly, and read up about lemons, and yes there is so much more to lemons than their beautiful color and scent.

It is better to have lemons with warmer water or even one or two glasses of hot water with lemon a day which works fine with me as I don’t like ice cold water anyway. The most exciting part of the research that I find out was that due to the pectin fiber the lemons  help fight hunger cravings. Brilliant!! They are also very high in vitamin C as well as potassium which stimulates nerve and brain function. Having Epilepsy, I thought this was particularly useful information however don’t we all want good brain function?!! 🙂

Lemons are amazing when it comes to controlling blood pressure as they are high in potassium, a chemical element that can be used to help control high blood pressure. Treating urinary tract infections, lemons increase the rate of urination which helps purify the body, toxins are therefore released at a faster rate, which keeps your urinary tract healthy. I believe from articles I have read lemons can be used in aid for treating respiratory issues such as asthma, and  treating wounds (as lemons are an antiseptic).

One of my favorites were the positive effects on the skin that lemons have. As they are very high in vitamin C it helps to keep wrinkles and blemishes at bay. Lemon water purges toxins from the blood which helps keep skin clear as well.

The one caution I must add is that the citric acid can erode tooth enamel, so I personally drink my water using a straw 🙂

So what do you think about lemons?? Whats your favorite fruit??  I love that such an easy, cheap fruit has so many  health benefits.

Sources:

Livestrong.com

Webmd.com

Sinead says:

Same here, I’ve been trying to drink lots of water in the last few weeks and I’ve found a slice of lemon in the glass makes it that bit easier 🙂



Definitely agree 🙂



Lemons in water have so many great benefits! I’ve been doing this for a few years now, I love lemons! 🙂



Maybe it’s a spring thing… I’ve been filling a liter and a half water bottle each day to drink through the day. Each glass gets a new organic lemon slice that’s squeezed and thrown in. Cheers to lemons and our health 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
