myjourney2healthy











{April 5, 2012}   The Interview – why is it NOT working??

Good morning Everyone!

If you are unemployed like myself and a ‘regular interviewer’ you will be familiar with the questions such as “tell me about yourself?” or “how do you deal with stress?”. These are common and basic questions which we all have prepared, I try to update my answer with every interview as a ‘lessoned learned” and of course personalise each question with an example. With the first twenty seconds of the interview being so crucial, you would think I had it figured out!

However, I am obviously still missing something. I know I am doing something right as the companies that I am aiming for are calling me in. One of the largest diamond companies called me in several months ago for a first interview, one that we all see walk down the Oscar / Emmy red carpet – I’ll keep away from names! I sailed through the first interview, they even made me write an essay about ‘why I wanted to join the company!” They didn’t know I love to write, so bingo for me! I had to then take some computer exams, and after passing all, they called me in a week later for interview number two. What a disaster. The first interview, was a complete success, I had met about three people  I would have been working with directly, they were crucial. The second interview flopped because the person interviewing me was such a stern person, I completely froze!! Why? Why? Why?? I couldn’t even answer the most basic questions that I knew. It was not fair. If this women asked me how old I was, I probably would not have known the answer. I never heard back again from them!

Recently I had another interview with an even better opportunity which made me realise getting over the above situation was totally fine as there is something for me out there. Just someone has to believe in me, at some point. This time it was a massive media company, how exciting! They had everything I wanted, fashion, celebrities, and the best writing! Everything I could dream about, I just needed to ace the interview, my hurdle. I had the nicest sweetest lady who interviewed me. She asked the  questions, I answered as much as I prepared but for some reason again I was all nerves, perhaps because I wanted this position so badly, because I needed this position so badly.  While I did not freeze at this interview, she did notice how nervous I was and offered me water and told me not to be nervous. Not a good thing! I did apologise. Confidence sells, not nerves! I couldn’t believe I was messing this up. She said she would be in touch with me, and while I have never heard back from her, not even an apology “someone else better fits this position” letter, I am still hoping I will hear from her as it was only a couple of weeks ago. I of course followed up with a thank you letter. Maybe a miracle can happen.

Yesterday, I had yet my final straw, although this was slightly different. It was an interview with a massive fashion house. It actually went well, but I didn’t really want it, surprisingly, while I would love to work at a massive fashion house, I just did not like the attitude at this particular one! So different to all my other interviews, I was a little more confident!! Of course they said they would get back to me…

I am still searching for the right position, I avoid the scamming recruitment agencies who will just waste your time (that is another post and a book / movie! They make me so angry!!) I have every confidence that someone will have faith in me.

Good luck on all of your interviews. We have a lot in common. I love to write and I’m trying to get healthy, too! One of my favorite books for writing inspiration is “Juicy Pens Thirsty Paper” by Sark. Check it out! If you have time, you might also want to check out my blog at http://www.100poundsin1year.wordpress.com. Shelby



Leave a Reply

et cetera
